How do you handle the highly sensitive?

Have you ever watched an emotional TV show and afterwards your heart is beating so fast and your mind won’t slow down from the vast amount of emotions rolling through your body?

Do you ever sit and ponder on the decisions others are making and hurt so bad that you can’t pry yourself out of your seat?

Have you ever had to ask yourself the question, “Why am I letting this petty stuff get to me”?

If you have answered yes to any of these questions then you are probably a highly sensitive person.

I have always known that I felt things on a deep level but never considered it to mean that I was sensitive, until I found this article. As soon as I read this article, it all clicked. They left a link to a quiz where you too can see if you are highly sensitive as well.

I am constantly inside of my head, I avoid high stress situations, I never speak my mind unless I am comfortable with my company and anxiety is my constant companion. To me, this is just the norm because it is all I have ever known. But I am now aware that not everyone is going to understand or relate.

So here are a few tips from me on how to handle someone who is highly sensitive.

1. Don’t chew loud, pop balloons or make any other loud distracting noises around them, on purpose because you know it bothers them. These types of noises are not just pet peeves for them, they are very disturbing and distracting. When someone pops a balloon around me I get jittery, my heart beats fast and I become on the verge of tears. I can’t tell you why this is, I used to assume it was because I had highly sensitive ears but I know realize that probably isn’t true.

2.  Don’t rush them. I could probably take this advice when it comes to others and this one doesn’t bother me too harshly because I am what one would call a “rusher”. But I still am cautious in my decisions but try to do so in a fast manner. I now realize not everyone is like that and I could understand how rushing them will lead them to get anxiety and make a not so thought out decision, which leads me to the next tip.

3. Don’t criticize them when things don’t turn out right. It is very true to say that a highly sensitive person is their own worst critic. When we make mistakes we will kick ourselves for longer than anyone else could and we will take that mistake and put it in our memory banks for future reference. That being said, there is no need for you to take it into your own hands because we have it handled. All we need is some reassurance and a little acknowledgment.

4. Love them. It is very safe to say that highly sensitive people feel everything ten times more than most, so when you tell them you love them they will feel it more than you know. They will literally feel a hug or a pat on the back deep inside them. The smallest gestures to them are astronomical. When you give to a highly sensitive person,they will also reciprocate because they are extremely sensitive to how you feel as well.

Consider having a highly sensitive person in your life a blessing. These people will love, share and help more than you could imagine. They have fantastic manners and will also lend a hand when you need it. And if you are one of the highly sensitive maybe this can help you see that it isn’t a burden to feel so deeply. It can be such a blessing in disguise and we should use it to our advantage.

Love,light and namaste.

signature

8 thoughts on “How do you handle the highly sensitive?

  1. I can relate to that! Minus the loud noise, thing, but my wife is support sensitive to that kind of thing, so between the two if us, maybe we qualify as one highly sensitive person. I’m gonna go take that quiz as the two of us combined….

    I definitely appreciate that you are highly sensitive, as it were. I feel like it really just means you feel more acutely than the “average person.” Blessing and curse, all in one?

    I also feel like all of your tips apply to every single Japanese person ever….. :-p

    NB

    Like

  2. I can relate to that! Minus the loud noise, thing, but my wife is support sensitive to that kind of thing, so between the two if us, maybe we qualify as one highly sensitive person. I’m gonna go take that quiz as the two of us combined….

    I definitely appreciate that you are highly sensitive, as it were. I feel like it really just means you feel more acutely than the “average person.” Blessing and curse, all in one?

    I also feel like all of your tips apply to every single Japanese person ever….. :-p

    NB

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

